Back in the saddle

It’s been quite some time since I last blogged here.  N and I have sold our home, but it took us close to a year and a half, and did us no good on the weight control front.  Keeping a house showing ready takes quite a bit of time, time that would otherwise have been spent at the gym or meal planning.  Really, though, that’s an excuse, but one I’m using.

I gained around 50 pounds, depending on when you count from.  Not a good result if I’d like to live a rich full life.

So here I am again to start over, to get back in the saddle and take control of my eating habits and do more exercise than I have been doing.  To be the role model my children need as opposed to simply the role model they get.

So what’s changed?  Why am I back in the saddle? What concrete actions have I taken?

I visited Dr. Freedhoff and signed up for his program. My experience with him and his staff so far is quite good and what I expected.  Lot’s of good information and no BS. No hard sell on anything, just facts. It’s early days yet (week 2 of 22), but I really like what I see so far.

My initial impression of the program:

  • Calories are the number 1 thing to be monitored
  • Exercise is good, but you won’t lose weight and keep it off getting exercise 100% right and not getting food 100% right
  • tracking your food is a huge factor in whether or not you will succeed

On that last point, I started tracking after my initial consultation with Dr. Freedhoff and did NOT attempt to change my diet.  The tracking had an immediate impact, I was suddenly aware of how many calories I was taking in during the day and without really trying I limited myself.  The tracking made me aware.

This entry was posted in health and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back in the saddle

  1. Joe Davis says:

    Welcome back to the saddle! Keep it up and you’ll get there!

Leave a Reply

